Young bloods amaze in Indonesian elite tilt

Emerging sensations Jekri Riwu, the 18-year-old Dio Koembanu and Asri Udin delivered astounding performances in the Indonesian Elite National Championships held in Medan, North Sumatra.

Riwu, a young talent from Bali who recently earned a gold medal in the Penang Pesta International Boxing Tournament, battered all his opponents in the men’s light welterweight (63.5kg) division including Gabriel Numberi in the finals.

Teenage standout Koembanu used his speed against Alviandi Teleng to come out victorious in minimumweight (48kg) while Udin posted impressive showings for the bantamweight (54kg) title.

Sarohatua Lumbantobing amazed the experts at the Thailand Open International Boxing Tournament and at the Southeast Asian Games in 2022. The 25-year-old Sumatra-based boxer controlled the light middleweight (71kg) in Medan where he was too strong for Alfino Nanlohi.

Jill Mandagie is an experienced boxer from the capital city and as expected, he managed to win all of the bouts in the National Championships at the featherweight (57kg).

Indonesia’s most veteran female boxer Beatrichx Aldriani Suguro, meanwhile, lived up to expectations and secured the gold medal in the flyweight (52kg) category where she outclassed Ayu Pramustika.

The women’s featherweight (57kg) delivered a surprise in the event, the internationally experienced Ratu Silpalau lost to Ratna Sari Devi of Jakarta in the final.

Southeast Asian Games 2021 gold medalist Maikhel Roberrd Muskita skipped the national championships to prepare for his cruiserweight (86kg) campaign in the ASBC Asian U22 Boxing Championships where he earned a silver medal.

The Indonesian Amateur Boxing Federation is planning to pick the best fighters from the national tilt and send them to various international tournaments this year.

List of winners in the Indonesian Elite National Championships
Women’s 48kg: Karmilia Saluluni
Women’s 50kg: Novita Sinadia
Women’s 52kg: Beatrichx Aldriani Suguro
Women’s 54kg: Suzen Simangunsong
Women’s 57kg: Ratna Sari Devi
Women’s 60kg: Adistia Oliana
Women’s 66kg: Novijar
Women’s 70kg: Julya Sisilia Siagian
Women’s 75kg: Elda Dara Asa Sirait
Men’s 48kg: Dio Koembanu
Men’s 51kg: Ingatan Ilahi
Men’s 54kg: Asri Udin
Men’s 57kg: Jill Mandagie
Men’s 60kg: Fido Masoara
Men’s 63.5kg: Jekri Riwu
Men’s 67kg: Ali Haidar
Men’s 71kg: Sarohatua Lumbantobing
Men’s 75kg: Cakti Dwi Putra
Men’s 80kg: Joshua Juan Vargas
Men’s 86kg: Jeremi Sihotang
Men’s 92kg: Rafinaldi Kandow

Don’t forget you can keep up with all of the action, news, results and photos by following ASBC on Facebook and Instagram.
ASBC website:
ASBC Facebook page:
ASBC Instagram page:
ASBC Twitter: