The South Asian Games is re-scheduled and will be held in Kathmandu on December 1-12

The upcoming South Asian Games is re-scheduled in Nepal’s capital city in Kathmandu and its new date is December 1-12, 2019. Our sport is popular in this multisport event and the region’s best women and men boxers will be able to attend in the boxing part of the South Asian Games.
The original date of the South Asian Games was March 2019 but the Nepal National Olympic Committee postponed the event to December due the busy calendar and other reasons. Kathmandu hosted the first ever South Asian Games in 1984 and later in 1999 which means the sport event will be returning to Nepal after 20 years.
Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka are eligible to attend in the boxing tournament of the South Asian Games. All of these countries will be attending in the upcoming ASBC Asian Confederation Boxing Championships in Bangkok, Thailand next month.
The last edition of the South Asian Games was held in Shillong, India in 2016 where the host nation proved perfect performance winning all of the ten gold medals in the front of the home crowd. The best Pakistanis and Sri Lankans claimed silver medals in the last edition of the South Asian Games three years ago. The women boxers attended in the South Asian Games at the very first time in the history of the multisport event.
India dominated the last edition in 2016 and most of their titleholders are still active in the sport and could be defended their titles. India’s boxing icon six-time AIBA Women’s World Champion Chungneijang Mary Kom Hmangte won her first South Asian Games title in 2016 while their two-time Olympian and ASBC Asian Champion Shiva Thapa was also among the gold medallist three years ago.

List of the titleholders in the South Asian Games
Women’s 51 kg: Chungneijang Mary Kom Hmangte, India
Women’s 60 kg: Sarita Devi Laishram, India
Women’s 75 kg: Pooja Rani, India
Men’s 49 kg: Laishram Devendro Singh, India
Men’s 52 kg: Madan Lal, India
Men’s 56 kg: Shiva Thapa, India
Men’s 60 kg: Dheeraj Kumar, India
Men’s 64 kg: Manoj Kumar, India
Men’s 69 kg: Mandeep Jangra, India
Men’s 75 kg: Vikas Krishan Yadav, India

Don’t forget you can keep up with all of the action, news, results and photos by following ASBC on Facebook and Instagram.
ASBC website:
ASBC Facebook page:
ASBC Instagram page: