Mihiran named Best Boxer in Sri Lankan Nationals men’s division

Teenage sensation Umayanga Mihiran was hailed as the Best Boxer in the men’s tournament of the 95th Sri Lankan National Boxing Championships held recently at the Royal MAS Arena in Colombo.

The 19-year-old Mihiran used his experience from the ASBC Asian U22 Championships earlier this year to demolish all his opponents in the flyweight (51kg) class, including T.K.G.K. Raveendranath via unanimous decision in the finals.

Another national team member in Podi Arachchige Rukmal Prasanna, who represented Sri Lanka in the Commonwealth Games last year in Birmingham, dominated all his three foes en route to the featherweight (57kg) title.

Former youth national titlist H.M.K.C. Ekanayaka took the light welterweight (63.5kg) gold while H.M.L.P. Jayawardana topped the busy minimumweight (48kg) division.

R.M.P.K.K. Rasnayaka walked over to the title against a more experienced boxer, the multiple champion W.R.T. Weerakodi and earned the gold medal at the lightweight (60kg).

A former Youth National Champion, H.M.K.C. Ekanayaka (63.5kg), P.M.L.L. Chandra Bandara (71kg) and the National Trials bronze medallist W.M.G.K.G.I. Ariyarathna (75kg) were too strong for their opponents in Colombo.

U.A. Avishka was not the main favourite at the men’s super heavyweight (+92kg) but he defeated the most experienced boxer, M.W.M.M. Meegasthenna in the semi-finals of the category and continued his winning path against A.D.R.M. Abeysinghe.

Four more champions emerged on the closing day which was attended by IBA Board of Directors member and Boxing Association of Sri Lanka President Dian Gomes. Sri Lanka was one of the pioneers in the Asian continent which launched their national boxing events nearly 100 years ago.

The winners among the 117 elite male boxers boosted their chance to be chosen for the national squad that will compete in international tournaments.

List of the winners at the Sri Lankan Men’s National Championships
Men’s 48kg: H.M.L.P. Jayawardana
Men’s 51kg: G.P. Umayanga Mihiran
Men’s 54kg: R.M.P. Dharmasena
Men’s 57kg: Podi Arachchige Rukmal Prasanna
Men’s 60kg: R.M.P.K.K. Rasnayaka
Men’s 63.5kg: H.M.K.C. Ekanayaka
Men’s 67kg: P.S.P.S. Fernando
Men’s 71kg: P.M.L.L. Chandra Bandara
Men’s 75kg: W.M.G.K.G.I. Ariyarathna
Men’s 80kg: H.W.G.P. Rathnasiri
Men’s 86kg: Y.S.P. Sudamma
Men’s 92kg: P.A.R.S. Rupasinghe
Men’s +92kg: U.A. Avishka

Don’t forget you can keep up with all of the action, news, results and photos by following ASBC on Facebook and Instagram.
ASBC website: www.asbcnews.org
ASBC Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/ASBC.Boxing/
ASBC Instagram page: https://www.instagram.com/asbc_official/
ASBC Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/BoxingAsian?s=08