Layton Cup

Best boxer-Men-
Dharmasena and Kumarasinghe are the bests in the Layton Cup
The Layton Cup has finished in the capital city of Sri Lanka in Colombo which competition was a selection event for the host nation’s boxers to the later major actions. Director General Department of Sports Development Ministry of Sports K.D.S. Ruwanchandra was the special guest of the Layton Cup.
Two Sri Lankan boxers are taking part in the Tammer Tournament in Tampere, Finland now who could not attend in the Layton Cup. Seven among the twenty winners defended their titles in the Layton Cup where MAS Southern BC was the best among the women and the Sri Lankan Army reached the top among the men competition.
Women boxing is in developing stage in Sri Lanka where their current national team contains experienced boxers. Their top boxer AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championships quarter-finalist Anusha Dilrukshi Kodituwakku boxed at the Flyweight class (51 kg) this time and won the gold medal at the Olympic category.
Two national team members Mohoti Mudiyanselage Viushika Prabadi and Kasthuri Keshani Hansika Arachchige of MAS Southern BC fought for the gold medal at the Lightweight class (60 kg). The 23-year-old Prabadi defeated her teammate in the final which means she has got chance to fight in the international level in 2016.
Galbokka Hewage Thanuja Nilakshi Dharmasena moved up to the Middleweight class (75 kg) where she could win her next title while she was awarded also the Best Woman Boxer trophy. Incheon 2014 Asian Games quarter-finalist and two-time Layton Cup winner Kaluhath Erandi Gimhani De Silva also won her weight class and proved she is among the best Sri Lankan women boxers.
The Best Men Boxer of the Layton Cup was Ruwangala Gedara Sisira Kumarasinghe who had to meet for the gold with his old rival Samith Arachchilage Heelbathdeniya. The 30-year-old Welterweight class (69 kg) boxer won a contest also in the ASBC Asian Confederation Boxing Championships in Bangkok therefore his experiences were enough to beat all of his rivals in the Layton Cup.
Layton Cup winner 23-year-old Pallahan Muthurawellage Thuwanka Sandaruwan Ranasinghe defended his throne at the Light Flyweight class (49 kg) where he defeated Adikari Mudiyanselage Amila Nuwan. Bandara Widanelage Ishan Ranjeewa Senavirathne was silver medallist in the Sri Lankan National Championships but this time he was able to get a brighter one and crowned in Colombo.
W. Ruwan Thilina Weerakoddi is 27 now and had enough bouts during his career to win the gold medal at the Bantamweight class (56 kg). President’s Cup bronze medallist Gayan Sanjeewa Jayaweera Naiduralage turned to 24 this year but he is one of the top boxer of the country. He won all of the Layton Cup since 2011 and following his triumph over 23-year-old Dinidu Saparamadu Jayaweera could get his fifth title in the history of the event.
P.M.B. Rodrigo is a newcomer in the elite age group and surprisingly he could defeat national team member Mohamed Younus Dilshan at the Light Welterweight class (64 kg). Mailawa A. Diwarathna and Gallage Ajith Nevil Fernando are veterans who could win their weight classes in the Layton Cup. A.R.B.E. Thilakarathne lost to Doha International Tournament silver medallist Lahiru Tharanga B. Rathnadiwakara in the final of the Sri Lankan National Championships who was not enough shape this time and suffered a loss to his older rival.

Winners in the Layton Cup
Women’s 48 kg: Kaluhath Erandi Gimhani De Silva
Women’s 51 kg: Anusha Dilrukshi Kodituwakku
Women’s 54 kg: K.K.I.T. Perera
Women’s 57 kg: Krismi Ayoma Dulanjani Dharmathilaka
Women’s 60 kg: Mohoti Mudiyanselage Viushika Prabadi
Women’s 64 kg: J.V.P. Jayasekara
Women’s 69 kg: G.D.L. Sadakelum
Women’s 75 kg: Galbokka Hewage Thanuja Nilakshi Dharmasena
Women’s 81 kg: P.D.N.N. Jayarathna
Women’s +81 kg: T.M. Weerasinghe
Men’s 49 kg: Pallahan Muthurawellage Thuwanka Sandaruwan Ranasinghe
Men’s 52 kg: Bandara Widanelage Ishan Ranjeewa Senavirathne
Men’s 56 kg: W. Ruwan Thilina Weerakoddi
Men’s 60 kg: Gayan Sanjeewa Jayaweera Naiduralage
Men’s 64 kg: P.M.B. Rodrigo
Men’s 69 kg: Ruwangala Gedara Sisira Kumarasinghe
Men’s 75 kg: Mailawa A. Diwarathna
Men’s 81 kg: Gallage Ajith Nevil Fernando
Men’s 91 kg: J.P.N.N. Jayaweera
Men’s +91 kg: A.R.B.E. Thilakarathne