Galym Zharylgapov Memorial Tournament in Karagandy


Kazakhstan dominated the Galym Zharylgapov Memorial Tournament
The Galym Zharylgapov Memorial Tournament was held in the city of Karagandy which is located in the northern part of Kazakhstan. The host nation of the competition claimed eight gold medals while China and Uzbekistan both bagged one title in the annual Galym Zharylgapov Memorial Tournament.
Kazakhstan’s Nurmakhanov Memorial Tournament winner Akniyet Baltabayev proved top performance in the final of the Light Flyweight class (49 kg) where he had a quick bout. The 21-year-old hope had lethal punches in the final against China’s Liu Heng and the referee stopped their bout still in the opening round.
Former National Champion Azamat Isakulov was not the favourite of the Flyweight class (52 kg) but he could win the gold medal after beating Nurgazy Zhusupov. Kazakhstan’s defending ASBC Asian Champion Olzhas Sattibayev lost to Incheon 2014 Asian Games winner Ilyas Suleimenov in the most important contest of the Flyweight class (52 kg) which was held in the quarter-finals.
Kazakhstan’s Aidar Imangaliyev is also among the new wave of the country who walked over to the final as AIBA World Boxing Championships bronze medallist Kayrat Yeraliyev could not fight against him. The 20-year-old Bantamweight class (56 kg) boxer had a bit stronger than Uzbekistan’s Sardor Muzaffarov in the final of the category.
China’s Xinjiang-based Maimaiti Abduraim was not the favourite of the Lightweight class (60 kg) but his efforts delivered for him four victories and an unexpected gold medal in Karagandy. He had to meet in the gold medal bout with Kazakhstan’s 18-year-old Iergesh Orazkhan who competed in the 2014 AIBA Youth World Boxing Championships. The Chinese boxer was enough technician to defeat the host nation’s teenager.
Aydar Amirzakov, WSB star Samat Bashenov and Almasbek Alibekov were the favourites of the Light Welterweight class (64 kg) but none of them could win the gold medal of the division. Nanjing 2014 Youth Olympic Games winner 18-year-old Abylaykhan Zhussupov impressed but he could not fight in the semi-final. The final triumph was achieved by 21-year-old Andrei Leikhener who defeated Incheon 2014 Asian Games competitor Aydar Amirzakov in the final winning it by split decision.
Uzbekistan had qualified boxer in almost all of the categories at the Doha 2015 AIBA World Boxing Championships excluding the Welterweight class (69 kg) which could be their weakest point. Their new face in the national squad Bobo-Usmon Baturov proved he is a strong athlete who won the gold medal after beating Kazakhstan’s Almaz Tleubergenov while WSB Team Champion Sagadat Rakhmankulov claimed only bronze in Karagandy.
ASBC Asian Youth Champion Tursynbay Kulakhmet moved back to his original Middleweight class (75 kg) and claimed the title in Karagandy. The 21-year-old boxer walked over to the gold against Almaty 2013 AIBA World Champion Zhanibek Alimkhanuly who could not box in the final of the event.
Kazakhstan’s two-time National Champion Arman Rysbek eliminated London 2012 Olympic Games silver medallist Adilbek Niyazymbetov in the semi-final of the Galym Zharylgapov Memorial Tournament in Karagandy which was a sensational triumph. The 25-year-old boxer failed to win the gold medal as Nurzod Sabirov was better in the final than Rysbek.
Kazakhstan’s Tammer Tournament winner Aleksey Sevostyanov defeated Kyrgyzstan’s veteran Chyngyz Borbashev in the quarter-final stage of the event. He triumphed over also two ASBC Asian Youth Champions Kazakhstan’s Aibek Yermetov and 19-year-old Temirlan Kabiyev which meant he could get the title.
Kazakhstan’s Ali Baloyev moved up to the Super Heavyweight class (+91 kg) and proved his skills are developed well in 2015. After the busy year he stopped Kazakhstan’s Aibek Zhumsakbayev in the semi-final and secured the gold against China’s Xinjiang-based Ablat Abdukhamat.

Winners in the Galym Zharylgapov Memorial Tournament
49 kg: Akniyet Baltabayev, Kazakhstan
52 kg: Azamat Isakulov, Kazakhstan
56 kg: Aidar Imangaliyev, Kazakhstan
60 kg: Maimaiti Abduraim, China
64 kg: Andrei Leikhener, Kazakhstan
69 kg: Bobo-Usmon Baturov, Uzbekistan
75 kg: Tursynbay Kulakhmet, Kazakhstan
81 kg: Nurzod Sabirov, Kazakhstan
91 kg: Aleksey Sevostyanov, Kazakhstan
+91 kg: Ali Baloyev, Kazakhstan