Aldoms Suguro, Sunan Agung Amoragam and Ainun Azizah were the young stars in the Indonesian National Championships

The Indonesian National Boxing Championships was held in Pangkal Pinang which city is the biggest one in the island of Bangka. The Indonesian boxers have been preparing hard to the Jakarta 2018 Asian Games where their talents can show their skills in the front of the home crowd. Their SEA Games winner star Aldoms Suguro and super talented Sunan Agung Amoragam both won their weight classes with top performance in the national event.
The number of the boxers was altogether 189 in the Indonesian National Championships in Pangkal Pinang. Among them 46 competed in the female part of the competition and 143 athletes attended in the men’s weight classes which shows the potential of Indonesia’s boxing before their Jakarta 2018 Asian Games.
The first gold medal of the Indonesian National Boxing Championships was achieved by a young talent, Endang at the women’s light flyweight (48kg) who eliminated former national team member Angelina Niis in the semi-final and continued her winning series in the final against Helpiarni Sijabat.
Ainun Azizah achieved silver medal in the ASEAN Youth Boxing Championships in Saraburi, Thailand this March where she proved her sensational skills. The 18-year-old teenage hope arrived to the event as one of the main favourite of the women’s flyweight (51kg) and she was able to accomplish her target after beating Novita Sinadia in the title contest of the event.
Huswatun Hasanah is another young talent in the Indonesian women’s boxing who competed in the recent national events successfully. The 19-year-old boxer trained hard in the recent one year following her silver medal in the Indonesian National Games which she changed to gold at the lightweight (60kg) following her success over Vinka Defri Bambuta.
The remaining gold medals of the women part of the Indonesian National Championships were achieved by Jubaitul (54kg), Karmila (57kg) and Ari Marsiana (64kg). Jubaitul defeated Suzen Simangunsong in the final of the bantamweight (54kg) which was a spectacular contest in Pangkal Pinang.
The first gold medal in the men’s part of the event was taken by Frejon Sahuleka who walker over to the title of the pinweight (46kg) following that German Hutagaol was unable to box against him. The men’s light flyweight (49kg) final saw a big surprise when Ingatan Ilahi defeated President’s Cup winner 23-year-old Mario Kali by unanimous decision and proved he has got enough boxing knowledge to compete in the international events.
Aldoms Suguro won the gold medal in the Southeast Asian Games and also in the Ulaanbaatar Box Cup this year therefore the 23-year-old talent was the top favourite at the flyweight (52kg) in the national event. Suguro had to do his very best in the title contest against Valentinus Nahak but finally his hand was raised after the last gong.
Sunan Agung Amoragam achieved the gold medal in the Indonesian National Games one year ago and since then he moved up to the bantamweight (56kg). The 20-year-old boxer was not only won his weight class but he received the Best Man Boxer Trophy following his successes over former SEA Games winner Julio Bria and Rahmad Febriansyah in the final stages of the event. ASBC Asian Confederation Boxing Championships quarter-finalist Simon Makarawe lost his first contest and travelled back to home with a lack of any medal.
Farrand Papendang competed in the last two editions of the ASBC Asian Confederation Boxing Championships in Bangkok and also in Tashkent therefore he had all of the experiences to win the difficult lightweight (60kg) in the event. The 24-year-old boxer defeated national team member Matius Mandiangan in the final while National Games winner Gresty Alfons achieved only bronze this time.
Makhel Robbed is a new face in Indonesia’s boxing life but he was able to take the title of the light welterweight (64kg) following his success over Libertus Gah. The welterweight (69kg) also saw serious surprises as the winner of the category was National Games silver medallist Saputra Samada who defeated Savon Simangunsong in the title contest. National team member Saroha Tua Lumbantobing claimed bronze while veteran Vinky Montolalu lost his first bout.
Bram Hendra Betaubun was quarter-finalist in the ASBC Asian Confederation Boxing Championships in Tashkent half year ago and he proved tough performance in the National Championships. The tough middleweight (75kg) boxer eliminated National Games winner Sandyarto Deno Feroza in the semi-final and he was also too strong for Jannes Siregar in the title contest.
National Games bronze medallist Taufan Paransa has been competing in the national events since 2011 therefore he had enough experiences to beat Rahman in the final of the light heavyweight (81kg). Former Southeast Asian Games bronze medallist Riko Amanupunyo is a veteran boxer who defeated 19-year-old hope Brandon Joey Haurissa and Marzuki Panggabean in the final stages of the heavyweight (91kg).

List of the winners in the Indonesian National Championships
Women’s 48kg: Endang
Women’s 51kg: Ainun Azizah
Women’s 54kg: Jubaitul
Women’s 57kg: Karmila
Women’s 60kg: Huswatun Hasanah
Women’s 64kg: Ari Marsiana
Men’s 46kg: Frejon Sahuleka
Men’s 49kg: Ingatan Ilahi
Men’s 52kg: Aldoms Suguro
Men’s 56kg: Sunan Agung Amoragam
Men’s 60kg: Farrand Papendang
Men’s 64kg: Makhel Robbed
Men’s 69kg: Saputra Samada
Men’s 75kg: Bram Hendra Betaubun
Men’s 81kg: Taufan Paransa
Men’s 91kg: Riko Amanupunyo