Rio Test Event – Day1

Mary Kom

India’s Mary Kom, Uzbekistan’s Dusmatov and Thailand’s Masuk won their opening bouts
Three Asian boxers could win their contests in the opening day of the Rio Test Event where our winners are advanced to the semi-finals and will be getting at least a bronze in the important competition. The bouts have been won by India’s Chungneijang Mary Kom Hmangte, Uzbekistan’s Hasanboy Dusmatov and Thailand’s Wuttichai Masuk.
The competition is a real test before the Rio 2016 Olympic Games where some of the boxers are already qualified and they can feel the environment of the venue. Selected boxers are fighting for the medals in three women and ten men weight classes in the Rio Test Event where some of the Asian key athletes are also there to reach the top of the podium.
India’s national boxing legend five-time AIBA Women’s World Champion and Incheon 2014 Asian Games winner Chungneijang Mary Kom Hmangte had some health problems in the recent one year but she returned in top shape in Rio de Janeiro. The 32-year-old Indian Flyweight class (51 kg) boxer was in totally different level than Venezuela’s Karlha Magliocco and delivered Asia’s first success on Friday.
Uzbekistan’s defending ASBC Asian Confederation Boxing Champion Hasanboy Dusmatov regained his place in their National Championships in the city of Samarkand over the weekend but after that he travelled to Rio de Janeiro to prove his very best in the quarter-finals. The 22-year-old Summer Universiade winner Uzbek hope dominated all of the rounds against Venezuela’s WSB hope Angelino Cordova and advanced to the semi-finals of the Men’s Light Flyweight class (49 kg).
Thailand has sent their best boxers to the Rio Test Event and their first athlete who attended in the Pre Olympic competition was Wuttichai Masuk who won the last edition of the ASBC Asian Confederation Boxing Championships in Bangkok and also the Incheon 2014 Asian Games. The Light Welterweight class (64 kg) star is already a Rio 2016 Olympian and felt the atmosphere of the arena when he outclassed Swaziland’s Selby Dlamini.