Nepal Army Boxing Championships crown 16 winners

A total of 16 winners–mostly privates, sergeants, corporals, and gunners–emerged triumphant in the 2023 Nepal Army Boxing Championships which concluded recently in the city of Latipur.

Six women and 10 men boxers claimed gold medals along with prizes in the military tournament that draws hundreds of contestants yearly.

Sujana Lamchhane Magar was the first winner in this year’s edition, topping the strongest class in the women’s division, minimumweight (48kg), after crushing Sharmila Rai, 5-0.

Anju Shrestha had a difficult final against B.K. Sumitra but her last round was enough to win the gold medal of the flyweight (52kg). Shusmita Jargha Magar (54kg) and Sajina Kishan (57kg) both won their finals by split decisions in Lalitpur where they defeated Samjhana Gharti and Krishna Budha.

Chariyama Magar dominated welterweight, (66kg) which was the most crowded with 13 military pugilists, as she hacked out a 5-0 rout against Bhima Kumari Katwal.

Over at the men’s side, one of the notable victors was the young talent Namaraj Shahi, who copped the minimumweight (48kg) title with a 5-0 crushing of Amir Guring.

Veteran boxer Bimal Gharti Magar utilized his experience to score an easy unanimous decision victory at the expense of Juddhabir Budha in flyweight (51kg).

Khagendra Roka Magar opened his campaign with a narrow victory and he was also slightly better in the final of the lighgweight (60kg) against Baburam Magar. The light welterweight (63.5kg) was a busy category in Lalitpur and among the participants, Sujan Sunari succeeded over another private, Manoj Rana Magar.

Similar to other national competitions organized earlier this year, the Nepal Army Boxing Championships served as an avenue for up-and-coming talents in the country.

List of winners in the 2023 Nepal Army Boxing Championships

Women’s 48kg: Sujana Lamchhane Magar

Women’s 52kg: Anju Shrestha

Women’s 54kg: Shusmita Jargha Magar

Women’s 57kg: Sajina Kishan

Women’s 60kg: Kamala Khadka

Women’s 66kg: Charimaya Magar

Men’s 48kg: Namaraj Shahi

Men’s 51kg: Bimal Gharti Magar

Men’s 54kg: Bal Bahadur Khadka

Men’s 60kg: Khagendra Roka Magar

Men’s 63.5kg: Sujan Sunari

Men’s 67kg: Samrat Maharjan

Men’s 75kg: Gesh Kumar Shrestha

Men’s 80kg: Krishna Raj Shahi

Men’s 92kg: Madan Karki

Men’s +92kg: Pawan Moktan

Don’t forget you can keep up with all of the action, news, results and photos by following ASBC on Facebook and Instagram.
ASBC website:
ASBC Facebook page:
ASBC Instagram page:
ASBC Twitter: