Commonwealth Games silver medallist Manish Kaushik defended his title in the Indian National Championships

The Indian National Boxing Championships for the men’s elite boxers was held in Pune, India which is located in the Maharashtra State. India’s highly ranked international level boxers such as Lalitha Prasad Polipalli, Madan Lal, Manish Kaushik, Sanjeet and Satish Kumar won their weight classes with top performance.
Their young men’s elite boxers proved sensational performance in the National Boxing Championships, several of their future hopes showed their development in Pune. The Indian boxers attended successfully in the Commonwealth Games and in the Asian Games this year which were the main competitions for their men’s elite athletes in 2018.
The Services won eight out of the ten gold medals in the Indian National Boxing Championships and topped the team rankings. In the absence of Jakarta 2018 Asian Games winner Amit Panghal a new boxer Deepak won the title of the light flyweight (49kg) following his success over Himanshu Sharma in the final.
Lalitha Prasad Polipalli claimed bronze medal in the Yerevan 2012 AIBA Youth World Boxing Championships and he is trying to regain his place in the national elite team. The 23-year-old flyweight (52kg) boxer eliminated AIBA Youth World Champion Sachin Siwach Singh in the semi-final and he was also slightly better than Ananta Chopade for the gold.
Madan Lal is member of the national team since 2011, he attended also in the World Series Boxing but he was not the favourite against Hamburg 2017 AIBA World Boxing Championships bronze medallist Gaurav Bidhuri. Lal, who claimed silver in the Chemistry Cup this June, impressed and defeated his top rival in the final of the bantamweight (56kg).
Manish Kaushik impressed in the international events in 2018, claimed silver medal in the Commonwealth Games and won many other competitions beating star rivals during his road to the gold medals. The 22-year-old lightweight (60kg) boxer was too strong for ASBC Asian Confederation Youth Boxing Championships silver medallist Ankush Dahiya and defended his throne in India.
WSB boxer Rohit Tokas attended in his first international event in 2011 and his international experiences paid off when he met with Abhishek Yadav in the final of the light welterweight (64kg). Duryodhan Singh Negi won the next title following his success over Dinesh while ASBC Asian Confederation Boxing Championships silver medallist Mandeep Jangra claimed only bronze medal at the welterweight (69kg).
At the middleweight (75kg) Manjeet Singh defeated Ashish Kumar in the semi-final and he was enough motivated to beat former ASBC Asian Junior Champion Prayag Chauhan in the final of the event. ASBC Asian Confederation Boxing Championships competitor Manish Panwar defeated Brijesh Yadav in the final of the light heavyweight (81kg) and won the eighth title of the National Championships.
Sanjeet claimed a surprise gold medal at the Indian Open International Boxing Tournament this January and involved to their WSB team this Season VIII. The young Indian heavyweight (91kg) boxer eliminated his top rival AIBA Youth World Boxing Championships bronze medallist 20-year-old Naman Tanwar in the semi-final and continued his winning path against experienced Parveen Kumar who moved down one category.
AIBA World Boxing Championships quarter-finalist Satish Kumar is India’s best super heavyweight (+91kg) boxer since 2013 and he attended plenty of international competitions. Satish Kumar was too strong for all of his opponents during his road to the final where Jasveer Singh was more competitive to him. Satish landed effective punches in the gold medal bout and his hand was raised after the last gong.

List of the winners in the Indian National Boxing Championships
49kg: Deepak
52kg: Lalitha Prasad Polipalli
56kg: Madan Lal
60kg: Manish Kaushik
64kg: Rohit Tokas
69kg: Duryodhan Singh Negi
75kg: Manjeet Singh
81kg: Manish Panwar
91kg: Sanjeet
+91kg: Satish Kumar

Don’t forget you can keep up with all of the action, news, results and photos by following ASBC on Facebook and Instagram.
ASBC website:
ASBC Facebook page:
ASBC Instagram page: