1 year ago on this day – India’s icon Mary Kom made the show at the 23rd Indonesian President’s Cup in Labuan Bajo

The finals of the traditional Indonesian President’s Cup were held in Labuan Bajo one year ago on this day. Labuan Bajo hosted the 2019 edition of the Indonesian President’s Cup at the very first time in the long history of the competition. The Indian boxers topped the medal standings in the event with seven gold medals and among them their star six-time AIBA Women’s World Champion Chungneijang Mary Kom Hmangte also won her weight class.

Six female and the seven male final contests were held on the day of the finals in the six-day long event which delivered impressive battles in the tropical paradise. Altogether 34 women and 55 men boxers attended in the 23rd edition of the Indonesian President’s Cup in Labuan Bajo, Komodo.

The gold, silver and bronze medalists and the best team of the event received money prizes at the 23rd President’s Cup. Among the world’s best squads United States of America, India, South Korea, Ukraine, Thailand, Italy, Philippines, Australia, Vietnam and many others competed in Labuan Bajo.

The first female gold medal of the 23rd Indonesian President’s Cup was achieved by India’s Monika who is a new sensation at the women’s light flyweight (48kg). The Indian National Champion and Strandja Memorial Tournament silver medallist controlled all of the three rounds against Indonesia’s Endang who attended in the last edition of the ASBC Asian Confederation Women’s Boxing Championships in Bangkok.

India’s boxing hero and national icon, six-time AIBA Women’s World Champion Chungneijang Mary Kom Hmangte had an unexpected hard way to the final of the flyweight (51kg) but she was able to beat Vietnam’s Anh Vo Thi Kim in a spectacular contest. Mary Kom’s final opponent was Australia’s April Franks but she was able to produce better performance in the title contest and captured the gold medal in Labuan Bajo.

India’s third-in-a-row success in the President’s Cup was delivered by promising Jamuna Boro who landed better punches against Italy’s 21-year-old Giulia Lamagna in the final of the women’s bantamweight (54kg). India finally achieved four out of the six possible female gold medals in Labuan Bajo where their fourth title was taken by AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championships bronze medallist Simranjit Kaur who has just moved down to the lightweight (60kg) before the event. Italy’s EUBC European Women’s Champion Francesca Amato controlled her light welterweight (64kg) in Labuan Bajo.

India’s first male title was achieved by Neeraj Swami at the men’s light flyweight (49kg) who was slightly better than Philippines’ ASBC Asian Boxing Championships quarter-finalist Ramel Macado in the final. The second male gold medal was earned by India’s Ananta Prashad Chopade who had a tough fight against Afghanistan’s new sensation Ramish Rahmani who stopped Ukraine’s Maksym Fatych and Philippines’ Crissan Paul Diacamos during his road to the final. The Indian flyweight (52kg) boxer was too strong for the Afghan hope in the title contest and reached his career highlight.

India’s Hamburg 2017 AIBA World Boxing Championships bronze medallist Gaurav Bidhuri suffered an unexpected loss for the gold medal of the bantamweight (56kg) when Indonesia’s A team member, energetic Jill Mandagie defeated him. Indonesia’s most experienced national team member, three-time ASBC Asian Confederation Boxing Championships competitor Farand Papendang claimed the title of the lightweight (60kg) following his success over South Korea’s former Asian Games competitor veteran Kim Ju Seong.

India’s ASBC Asian Confederation Youth Boxing Championships silver medallist Ankush Dahiya was too strong for all of his opponents at the light welterweight (64kg) including Macau’s surprise Leung Kin Fong in the final. The last two gold medals of the President’s Cup were achieved by Indonesia’s talents as Saputra Samada (69kg) and 18-year-old super talented Maikel Roberrd Muskita (75kg). 

List of the winners in the 2019 Indonesian President’s Cup
Women’s 48kg: Monika, India
Women’s 51kg: Chungneijang Mary Kom Hmangte, India
Women’s 54kg: Jamuna Boro, India
Women’s 57kg: Carly Salmon, Australia
Women’s 60kg: Simranjit Kaur, India
Women’s 64kg: Francesca Amato, Italy
Men’s 49kg: Neeraj Swami, India
Men’s 52kg: Ananta Prashad Chopade, India
Men’s 56kg: Jill Mandagie, Indonesia
Men’s 60kg: Farand Papendang, Indonesia
Men’s 64kg: Ankush Dahiya, India
Men’s 69kg: Saputra Samada, Indonesia
Men’s 75kg: Maikel Roberrd Muskita, Indonesia

Don’t forget you can keep up with all of the action, news, results and photos by following ASBC on Facebook and Instagram.
ASBC website: www.asbcnews.org
ASBC Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/ASBC.Boxing/
ASBC Instagram page: https://www.instagram.com/asbc_official/